Derby Winners

Aidan O'Brien Has Trained The Derby Winner On Multiple Occasions
Aidan O'Brien Has Trained The Derby Winner On Multiple Occasions

The Epsom Derby is one of the oldest races run anywhere in the world with the first race having been run in 1780. The Derby was the brainchild of Edward Smith-Stanley, 12th Earl of Derby, who inaugurated it for the entertainment of his friends. The first race took place in 1780 and was won by Diomed.

A couple of the most famous horses to have won the Epsom Racecourse are Nijinsky in 1970 and famous for another unfortunate reason Shergar who won it in 1981,having been kidnapped from his horse box and has never been found to this day. When you mention the Epsom Derby one jockey who has become associated with this great race was Lester Pigott who managed to win it an amazing nine times, no other jockey has come close to emulating this magnificent achievement.

Recent Epsom Derby Results

2017 Epsom Derby Result

  1. Wings Of Eagles - A O'Brien - P Beggy - 40/1
  2. Cliffs Of Moher - A O'Brien - R Moore - 5/1
  3. Cracksman - J Gosden - F Dettori - 7/2

18 Ran

2016 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Harzand D Weld P Smullen 13/2

US Army Ranger A O'BrienR Moore 7/2F

Idaho A O'BrienS Heffernan 14/1

2015 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Golden Horn J Gosden F Dettori 13/8F

Jack Hobbs J Gosden W Buick 4/1

Storm The Stars W Haggas P Cosgrove 16/1

2014 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Australia A O'Brien J O'Brien11/8F

Kingston Hill R Varian A Atzeni 15/2

Romsdal Gosden R Hughes 20/1

2013 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Ruler Of The World A O'BrienR Moore 7/1

Libertarian K Burke W Buick 14/1

Galileo Rock D Wachman W Lordan 25/1

2012 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

1Camelot A O'Brien J O'Brien 8/13f

Main Sequence D Lanigan T Durcan 9/1

Astrology A O'Brien R Moore13/2

2011 Epsom Derby Result

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Pour Moi A FarbeM Barzalona 4/1

Treasure Beach A O'Brien C O'Donoghue 25/1

Carlton House M Stoute R Moore 5/2F

2010 Epsom Derby Result -

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Workforce S M Stoute R Moore 6/1

At First Sight A O'Brien S Heffernen 100/1

Rewilding M Al Zarooni F Dettori 9/2

2009 Epsom Derby Result -

Pos. Horse Trainer Jockey SP

Sea The Stars J Oxx M Kinane 11/4

Fame And Glory A O'Brien J Heffernan 9/4f

Masterofthehorse A O'Brien R Hughes 16/1

2008 Epsom Derby Result


New Approach Jim Bolger Kevin Manning 5-1

Tartan Bearer -R L Moore 6-1

Casual Conquest - P J Smullen 7-2 fav

2007 Epsom Derby Result -


Authorized - L Dettori 5-4  Fav

Eagle Mountain - J Murtagh 6-1

Aqaleem - R Hills 9-1


2017 WINGS OF EAGLES Aidan O'Brien P Beggy 40/1

2016 HARZANDD Weld P Smullen13/2

2015 GOLDEN HORN J Gosden F Dettori 13/8f

2014 AUSTRALIA Aidan O'Brien J O'Brien 11/8f

2013 RULER OF THE WORLD Aidan O'Brien R Moore 7/1

2012 CAMELOT Aidan O'Brien J O'Brien 8/13f

2011 POUR MOI A Fabre M Barzalona 4/1

2010 WORKFORCE SIr Michael Stoute R Moore 6/1



2007 AUTHORIZED Peter Chapple­Hyam L Dettori 5/4f

2006 SIR PERCY- M Dwyer 6/1

2005 MOTIVATORM Bell J Murtagh 3/1 F

2004 NORTH LIGHT Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon 7/2 JF

2003 KRIS KIN Michael Stoute Kieren Fallon 6/1

2002 HIGH CHAPARRAL Aiden O'Brien Johnny Murtagh7/2

2001 GALILEO Aidan O'Brien M Kinane 11/4JF

2000 SINNDAR John Oxx Johnny Murtagh 7/1

1999 OATH Henry Cecil Kieren Fallon 13/2

1998 HIGH-RISE Luca Cumani Olivier Peslier 20/1

1997 BENNY THE DIPJohn Gosden Willie Ryan 11/1

1996 SHAAMIT William Haggas Michael Hills 12/1

1995 LAMMTARRA Saeed bin Suroor Walter Swinburn 14/1

1994 ERHAAB John Dunlop Willie Carson 7/2F

1993 COMMANDER IN CHIEF Henry Cecil Michael Kinane 15/2

1992 DR DEVIOUS Peter Chapple­Hyam John Reid 8/1

1991 GENEROUS Paul Cole Alan Munro 9/1

1990 QUEST FOR FAME Roger Charlton Pat Eddery 7/1

1989 NASHWAN Dick Hern Willie Carson 5/4F

1988 KAHYASI Luca Cumani Ray Cochrane 11/1

1987 REFERENCE POINT Henry Cecil Steve Cauthen 6/4F

1986 SHAHRASTANI Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn 11/2

1985 SLIP ANCHOR Henry Cecil Steve Cauthen9/4F

1984SECRETODavid O'BrienChristy Roche 14/1

1983 TEENOSO Geoff Wragg Lester Piggott 9/2F

1982 GOLDEN FLEECE Vincent O'Brien Pat Eddery 3/1F

1981 SHERGAR Michael Stoute Walter Swinburn 10/11F

1980 HENBIT Dick Hern Willie Carson 7/1

1979 TROY Dick Hern Willie Carson 6/1

1978 SHIRLEY HEIGHTS John Dunlop Greville Starkey 8/1

1977 THE MINSTREL Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 5/1

1976 EMPERY Maurice Zilber Lester Piggott 10/1

1975 GRUNDY Peter Walwyn Pat Eddery 5/1

1974 SNOW KNIGHT Peter Nelson Brian Taylor 50/1

1973 MORSTON Arthur Budgett Eddie Hide 25/1

1972 ROBERTO Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 3/1F

1971 MILL REEFIan Balding Geoff Lewis 100/30F

1970 NIJINSKY Vincent O'Brien Lester Piggott 11/8F

New posts have just been added
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+